Although the stances and feelings of many regarding marijuana are rapidly changing, the laws in Texas regarding the federally controlled substance remain among the strictest in the nation. As such, possessing or exchanging even small amounts of cannabis could land you in seriously hot legal water. At The Law Offices of Steven M. Williams, we have helped many clients who have been charged with delivery of the drug to understand the state’s marijuana trafficking laws.
Knowingly and intentionally providing marijuana to another person is prohibited by Texas state law. This may be the case even if no money or other forms of compensation are provided.
The classification of offense that you may be charged with depends on the amount of the drug you are alleged to have delivered, and whether you received any remuneration. According to the Health and Safety Code of Texas, delivery of marijuana in the amount of one-quarter of an ounce or less, without receiving compensation, is considered a Class B misdemeanor. Should you receive compensation, monetary or otherwise, for one-quarter of an ounce or less of cannabis, it qualifies as a Class A misdemeanor. Delivering between one-quarter of an ounce and five pounds of marijuana is a state jail felony, while providing between five and 50 pounds or between 50 and 2,000 pounds of cannabis are second-degree and first-degree felonies respectively.
The penalties you may face if convicted of delivery of marijuana vary based on the offense classification you are charged with. They include fines of up to $2,000, $4,000 or $10,000, as well as confinement in jail, state jail or prison from not more than 180 days to life in prison for the delivery of 2,000 pounds or more of marijuana.
Being charged with marijuana-related drug offenses may have a significant impact on your freedom, as well as your future. More information about drug charges is available on our web page.